Purple Martin Behavior During Cold Weather

Welcome to the internet's gathering place for Purple Martin enthusiasts
Ken Landry

I decided to make a new thread concerning communal roosting during cold weather. This is information every landlord should be aware of and watch out for in order to be sure martins do not get trapped in a gourd or compartment after a cold night.

Astrid Olsen responded with a very good posting and photos on this subject and I hope she will repost it here also.

Here is my original posting:

I have been surprised that no one had discussed the purple martins natural instincts for dealing with cold weather.

During cold weather the martins huddle TOGETHER in a single gourd or room for warmth. Maybe this fact is not widely known, I certainly had not been aware of this behavior and I have been hosting martins for over 25 years.

I have first hand knowledge because it happened at my site during a cold snap after several of my martins had returned early in the season. The morning after a cold night I lowered my house to see if they were allright and found that a martin had died completely blocking the entrance! I raised the door and found 9 other martins alive but weak huddled in the 6" X 6" compartment!

This instinctive behavior is in total contrast to their normal behavior of fighting for specific nesting cavities! It must be their instinctive way of conserving and sharing body heat for survival.

Because of this first hand knowledge, I believe if we landlords are going to use handwarmers, we should only do so for the first one or two early returning martins. After several martins have arrived it should be left to their natural instincts to act as a team to survive. I encourge landlords to observe closely and document this natural behavior and check on their birds when a cold snap hits. If I had not checked on them the morning after the cold spell they all would have perished.