Continue Dawn Song?

Welcome to the internet's gathering place for Purple Martin enthusiasts
Rusty_Griswald

I’m a newbie and am thrilled to have a SY pair staying the night. They’ve stayed now for about 10 days and may now just be starting to slowly start nest building. I’ve read in other threads that the dawn song can potentially scare off new martins while other threads suggest leaving it play until you’ve got two or more nesting pairs. My SY’s don’t seem to mind it, so I’ve left mine playing but was curious as to what others have had success with when starting out a new colony.

I’ll probably stop the dawn song if/when mine start a more concentrated nest building effort and/or I see any eggs during a nest check if I miss seeing them pick up the pace on building a nest.
randyM
Martin Colony History: 2006 - SY pair, unsuccessful nest attempt, 3 houses = 52 cavities

2010 - ASYM + SYF pair - male disappeared after storm, female fledged all 4 young.

2015 - Lone SYM stayed month of June...added 8 gourds = 60 cavities

2016 - 1 nesting pair (ASYM + SYF) 2/3 eggs hatched 2 young fledged.

2017 - 4 nesting pairs, 16/17 eggs hatched, 16 fledged, 16 banded - 2 banded SY returned in 2018 (12.5%), added housing: 11 houses w/gourds, 4 gourd poles = 376 cavities

2018 - 10 nesting pairs, 46/52 eggs hatched, 45 fledged, 29 banded - 3 banded SY returned in 2019 (10.3%)

2019 - 32 nesting pairs, 145/160 eggs hatched, 139 fledged - 87 banded - 12 banded SY returned in 2020 (13.8%).

2020 - 35 nesting pairs, 180/199 eggs hatched, 178 fledged - 150 banded.