Identify nest

Welcome to the internet's gathering place for Purple Martin enthusiasts
firefighter30

I have had a pair of Martin's for about two weeks. I have watched them going in and out of 1 of 6 gourds building a nest. Two days ago I came home from work and found 2 sparrows going in and out of another gourd. I'm not seeing the pair of Martin's now so I went and checked the house the Martin's were going in. When I checked the house it's full of hay from our horse pin with some white feathers. Can you tell me if the attached picture of the gourd the Martin's were in is a Matin nest? I'm new to this and these 2 martins were my first pair. I'm Confused becuase I watched for 2 weeks the martin going down to my yard and bringing stuff back to the gourd. If it's not a martin nest should I clean it out?
Attachments
IMG_16052020_212901_(1080_x_1080_pixel).jpg
(414.25 KiB) Not downloaded yet
deancamp

Looks like a sparrow nest, definitely not Martins. The sparrows should be eliminated. What is your options to kill them? If you can trap them where they're building, leave the nest so they keep coming back and into your trap. Regardless do not allow them to nest there, but removing the nest is not enough.
mwren