New Landlord-where do they go?

Welcome to the internet's gathering place for Purple Martin enthusiasts
CSXengr

This is my first year so naturally I have tons of questions and lots to learn.

1) Where do the Martins go around noon? I have three pair that have been nest building for the last 3 days. But around noon they go somewhere and don't show up till late in the afternoon. Then they resume their nest building.

2) A 7th bird showed up yesterday (which I assume is a SY male can't get a get a good look at it) cause when it showed up their world turned upside down. One ASY male jumped it and they went to the ground. Am I correct in my assumptions?

3) I have two decoys up on my rack, should I take these down? I don't want to attract hawks or owls!

4) How many days after nest building starts do they start laying eggs? And when should I do a nest check?

One note to add, yesterday afternoon I couldn't help but laugh at one female. She went to the ground and picked up a leaf that was almost as large as her. She went to her gourd and struggled to get it in the opening. But after a bit she finally managed to get it inside. That was determination.

Thanks for the help.

Gary
Spiderman

Our Martins leave at lunch time and go to a transmission power line that crosses the lake. They socialize with other Martins in the area and just take a break in a safe place. They are high and can see for ever and just hang out away from the Colony to confuse Hawks on where they might live.

SY's will be showing up now too. You can tell because they are really small in thickness but fly very fast. They will challenge the resident males for possession of cavities.

Use of decoys is a personal choice. I took mine down, while the Cooper's hawk would attack the decoy and spare the live bird, I noticed that the Hawk would always be near and wait for the real birds to return. The decoy was a telling sign that Martins where there somewhere and he would wait them out.