Welcome to the internet's gathering place for Purple Martin enthusiasts
T-Bird
Martin Colony History: Rookie Season
Trendsetter 12
PMCA Member

New to Martins and Forum....

Postby T-Bird » Mon Dec 30, 2019 11:05 am

Hello to all!

I am new to the world of birds. I recently decided I wanted to put up a nice place for some birds to call home. After speaking with my local bird store, and doing a little research, I have found that there is a little more to it than just planting a pole and slapping a house on top.

I have spent a little time lurking and reading up on many topics that have been discussed here. Thank you to all who have so generously contributed to this wonderful forum.

T-Bird

C.C.Martins
Martin Colony History: 2016- didnt know anything about martins, put up an all wrong house in 2016 and had two come by and inspect all the cavities. Left soon after not to return. Learned what i could on PMCA, made adjustments and next year was sucessful.
2017- 5 pair. 15 fledged.
2018-18 pair. 85 fledged.
2019- 17 pair. 81 fledged
2020:?
Home colony: 17 natural gourds, one 6 compartment house. All SREH.
Satelite colony Oso bay preserve: 12 gourds: excluder, troyer horizontal, super gourds with tunnels. 6 room trio mino castle with enlarged compartments.
2019: Visitors
2020: ?
PMCA member

Re: New to Martins and Forum....

Postby C.C.Martins » Mon Dec 30, 2019 11:23 am

Welcome! It is defenitely an experience being a martin landlord. And yes its a definite science. What sort of housing were you envisioning?
Many many factors involved in choices and placement. Short and sweet; look in your neighborhood and see if there are other houses or gourds offered. May consider something like theirs unless they are substandard. Cant go wrong with gourds, but id highly suggest that whatever you choose has starling resistant entrances. Lots to learn from here, many experienced landlords to help.
Again welcome, the board will heat up soon, as the martins return.
Tom
Tom