TIPS ON USING A PELLET RIFLE TO CONTROL NON NATIVE BIRDS

Welcome to the internet's gathering place for Purple Martin enthusiasts
saltair

I have been shooting pellet rifles for many years. I do not claim to be an expert but I will share what I have learned over the years through experience and reading pellet rifle manufacturing forums.

All manufactures make decent rifles and I have no affiliation with any manufacturer nor do I promote any manufacturer over another.

Get a good decent, preferably a nitro (gas) piston rifle. I have a .177 caliber single pump rifle. Airgun nation is a decent forum.
Get a decent scope. some rifles can be bought with scopes.
You need to fire at least 200 pellets through the rifle. The rifle needs to be broke in before you can sight in the scope.
Use the heavier 10.0 gr. (grain) or heavier pellet. The heavier the pellet the more accurate and the heavier pellet is slower which does not break the sound barrier that causes the loud CRACK which is heard like when you shoot a .22 rifle. Neighbors will thank you.
I have found when i clean the inside of the barrel I have to sight in the scope again so I do not clean the inside of the barrel.
The pellets I use are the 10.5 grain round nose, heavy duty premier pellets. They can come in tins of 500 pellets.
I do NOT use the flat nose or hollow point pellets because they are not as accurate.
I sight in the scope from 20 yards away which will be just as accurate firing at 37 yds. away where my gourds are located.
The MOST IMPORTANT PART..use the Artillery Hold when holding the rifle. Or you can rest the fore grip, (the grip under the barrel), on a fence post, window sill or another sturdy structure and DO NOT tightly grip the rifle while holding. Look up the artillery hold for pellet guns. The rifle HAS to move while firing, slight jump.
For targets I use paper plates and use a red magic marker to make a large dot in the middle of the plate for a bulls eye.