Mites on my Martin House

Welcome to the internet's gathering place for Purple Martin enthusiasts

I did a next check today and noticed small black bugs on the house. I used a paper towel to rub them off. I was told they are mites. Has anyone run into this :?: What do I need to do to get rid of the mites :?: Will the mites harm the babies :?: Are the mites transfered to human :?:

Mites may lead to early fledging and are making your Martins uncomfortable. Although somewhat contoversal, I recommend a dose of Sevin. You can buy it at the local garden shop for a couple of bucks. It is commonly used to control garden insects and will eliminate mites in about 12 hours. Sprinkle a half teaspoon on the edge of the nest and it's over for the year.

I generally treat my nest at the egg laying stage and the one dose keeps them mite free for the entire season.

Good Luck,

yes I have some experiences witn mites,.In fact mites are those little black specks that crawl all over in the nests and over the martin house. they suck blood and kill baby martins.. or jump from there nests,.,.even the parents may leave.eggs or babies in and effort to save their lives,.,

YOU MUST TAKE ACTION NOW.. Buy a an incectiside SEVIN at your local feed store or at a garden center.. Use as is on label or I use 21 percent licquid Sevin at the rate of 3 tablespoons per gallon of water.. You can spray the nests good.. In 24 hours mites are all gone It is very safe...A poll taken recently found that 8 of 10 martin Landlords are using Sevin in their nests You will be delighted.. I have been using Sevin for 30 years... Treat ounce a year. God bless you. Victor Stoll.

I fogot to tell you that mites will do no harm to humans....But who wants mites crawling all over you ??? Victor