New to purple martins

Welcome to the internet's gathering place for Purple Martin enthusiasts
Birdgirlnerd
Martin Colony History: None yet...

Hi I am new to purple martins and I am looking to start a colony next year. Do you have any tips for a beginner? :grin:
Mike Mack

One of the best things to do would be, back up a few pages on this forum and read. The farther you back up in time page wise the more you will learn. Then start asking questions. Nice to allways see new people getting in the game. Best of luck. Mike.
Birdgirlnerd

Thank you, will do! :grin:
scottfreidhof

Purple martins love to nest in Texas so that is a big plus for you. First step and I recommend doing it now is to decide what type of housing you want. Start simple with your first housing choice and then add on from there. By simple I mean a gourd rack that can hold 6, 8, or 12 gourds, or a 12-unit aluminum house. I prefer natural gourds but other options include plastic gourds - vertical or horizontal, metal houses, and wood houses. Purchase the pole and housing now and set it up in your yard this summer just to work through the learning curve. Take it down though once you have it figured out. If left up during the off-season it will attract too much attention from starlings, house sparrows, and bluebirds. You will be ready and stress-free this coming late winter or early spring to set up during the time when martins are searching for nesting sites in Texas.

Decide what type of entrances you want on your gourds or housing. Most will recommend Starling Resistant Entrance Holes (SREH) instead of round holes. I still use round holes at home because I can trap and shoot when necessary. I rarely have trouble with starlings but house sparrows are an annual issue for me.