Purple Martin Occupancy Levels In My Colony

Welcome to the internet's gathering place for Purple Martin enthusiasts
Steve Kroenke

Purple Martin Occupancy Levels In My Colony

I have been carefully studying my gourd racks and houses to determine purple martin occupancy levels in them. Here are some of the stats so far:

There are three Gemini gourd racks with 24 gourds each. All 72 gourds are now occupied by martins.

My 36 gourd Super System has 33 pairs of martins.

My 24 gourd Super System has 23 pairs of martins.

I have seven K24 gourd racks and I am still studying these systems but I believe there are about 20 pairs per system with some racks having more. There are 168 gourds on these seven racks and I believe at least 140 of them are occupied by martins.

I have three 12 room Trendsetter houses and each has about ten pairs of martins for around 30 pairs in 36 compartments.

Two of my 12 room Trendsetters have ten gourds each hanging below on a hub. These 20 gourds have 19 pairs of martins.

My 16 room Trendsetter has at least 11 pairs of martins.

My 28 room Trendsetter is the least well occupied based on a percentage. I believe I have around 16 pairs of martins with about four pairs per side. Martins fight a lot in this house and seem to get confused on which compartment is theirs. Two sides of the house have holes close together and vertically lined up and the other two sides have holes spaced far apart but still vertically lined up. Though I have large porch dividers, the martins still try to dominate compartments and fighting has been savage.

There are four gourds below the 28 room Trendsetter and all are occupied by martins.